Agenda Item No: 6F-/

## PALM BEACH COUNTY **BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS** BOARD APPOINTMENT SUMMARY

**Meeting Date:** 

August 14, 2012

Submitted By:

**County Administration** 

Advisory Board Name: Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council

## I. EXECUTIVE BRIEF

Motion and Title: Staff recommends motion to ratify: the following Palm Beach County League of Cities (League) representatives to the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council (Council) for the term ending November 30, 2012:

**Nominee** 

Seat No.

Requirement

Member appointment:

Joni Brinkman

Palm Beach County Official

Vice Mayor, Village of Palm Springs

Alternate appointment:

Anne Gerwig

4A

Palm Beach County Official

Councilmember, Village of Wellington

Summary: As required under the TCRPC's Rules of Orders, on November 1, 2011, the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) appointed three (3) Commissioners as members and three Commissioners (3) as alternates to serve on the TCRPC for the coming year. In addition, in accordance with the Council's Bylaws, the BCC ratified the League's members on November 15, 2011. Since the November 2011 ratification, there has been a need for changes to some of the League's representatives. Vice Mayor Brinkman has been moved from an Alternate seat (4A) to Seat 7, replacing Carmine Priore, as a regular member. Councilmember Anne Gerwig has been selected to fill the Alternate seat (4A), previously held by Vice Mayor Brinkman. The BCC must now ratify the selection. Countywide (RPB)

Background and Justification: The TCRPC Organizational Rules provide that the BCC appoint three (3) BCC members and three (3) BCC alternates to the Council each year. As well, the BCC ratifies the five (5) Palm Beach County municipal representatives and alternates. The only restriction on both the members and alternates is that they are elected officials. The TCRPC is charged with discussion of local government comprehensive plans, development of regional impact, and other regional planning activities, and has requested the BCC appoint their members and alternates, and ratify the municipal representatives before the Council's annual meeting on December 9, 2011. Changes to League representation has occurred and according to the Council's Bylaws, the BCC must ratify the League's selections.

## **Attachment:**

Correspondence from League of Cities regarding TCRPC municipal representatives

Recommended by:

Assistant County Attorney

## II. REVIEW COMMENTS

A. Other	Department	Review:
----------	------------	---------

Department Director



June 27, 2012

Mr. Michael Busha Executive Director Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council 421 SW Camden Avenue Stuart, FL 34994

RE: Appointment to the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council

Dear Mr. Busha:

At the June 27<sup>th</sup> meetings of the Palm Beach County League of Cities, Wellington Councilmember Anne Gerwig was appointed to Alternate Seat 4, formerly held by Joni Brinkman of Palm Springs. The League appointments now read as follows:

Seat 4 Seat 5 Seat 6 Seat 7 Seat 8	Martha Webster	Councilmember	Royal Palm Beach
	Sam Ferreri	Mayor	Greenacres
	Karen Golonka	Mayor	Jupiter
	Joni Brinkman	Vice Mayor	Palm Springs
	Shelby Lowe	Councilmember	Riviera Beach
Seat 4 Alt. Seat 5 Alt. Seat 6 Alt. Seat 7 Alt. Seat 8 Alt.	Anne Gerwig David Norris James DuBois Kimberly Mitchell Ellen Andel	Councilmember Mayor Mayor Commissioner Vice Mayor Pro Tem	Wellington North Palm Beach Lake Park West Palm Beach Juno Beach

If you have any questions, please contact our office at 355-4484.

Sincerely,

Richard Radcliffe

**Executive Director** 

cc: Councilmember Anne Gerwig – Village of Wellington
Patty Hindle, Agenda Coordinator – Palm Beach County Administration

www.leagueofcities.org | rradcliffe@pbcgov.org Richard Radcliffe, Executive Director (561) 355-4484 | (Fax) 355-6545 P.O. Box 1989, Governmental Center, West Palm Beach

P.O. Box 1989, Governmental Center, West Palm Beach, FL 33402 Office: Governmental Center, 301 North Olive Ave., Suite 1002.17, West Palm Beach, FL 33401