PALM BEACH COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Agenda Item No:

14-1

1

BOARD APPOINTMENT SUMMARY

Meeting Date: November 20, 2012

Submitted By: County Administration

Advisory Board Name: Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council

I. EXECUTIVE BRIEF

Motion and Title: Staff requests Board direction: as it relates to the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) appointments to the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council for a one (1) year term beginning December 1, 2012, to November 30, 2013. Current representatives are shown below:

<u>S</u> (eat No.	Requirement
Regular Seats:		
Vacant	1	
Commissioner Paulette Burdick	2	Palm Beach County Official
Commissioner Priscilla A. Taylor	3	Palm Beach County Official
Alternate Seats:		
Commissioner Jess R. Santamaria	1	Palm Beach County Official
Commissioner Steven L. Abrams	2	Palm Beach County Official
Commissioner Shelley Vana	3	Palm Beach County Official

Summary: In accordance with the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council (TCRPC) Rules of Order, the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) is requested to appoint their members and alternates for the coming year before the Council's Annual meeting on December 14, 2012. The BCC will also need to ratify the Palm Beach County League of Cities (League) members under a separate board appointment item. <u>Countywide</u> (RPB)

Background and Justification: The TCRPC Organizational Rules provide that the BCC appoint three (3) members and three (3) alternates to the Council each year. The only restriction on both the members and alternates is that they are elected officials. The TCRPC is charged with discussion of local government comprehensive plans, development of regional impact, and other regional planning activities, and has requested the BCC appoint their members and alternates before the Council's annual meeting on December 14, 2012.

Attachments:

1. Letter from Michael J. Busha, Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council

Recommended by:	10 Baker	11/2/12
	Deputy County Administrator	Date
Approved By:	MBAS	11/3/12
	Assistant County Attorney	^l ['] Date

A. Other Department Review:

Department Director



October 16, 2012

The Honorable Shelley Vana, Chair Palm Beach County Board of County Commissioners P. O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402-1989

Subject: Annual Appointment of Council Members

Dear Chair Vana:

In accordance with Council's Rules of Organization, the December meeting is designated as the Annual Meeting, at which time the appointment of all members and alternates is to occur. It is therefore requested that the Board of County Commissioners take the necessary action to appoint members and alternates for the upcoming year. In the case of Palm Beach County, eight members and eight alternates need to be appointed (three county, five municipal). It should be noted that all alternates must be elected officials.

Additionally, the bylaws specifically indicate that municipal appointments must be either appointed or approved by the County. Each County is assigned the number of appointments and the method for making the appointments is left to the discretion and cooperation of the local governments in the area.

It would be appreciated if the County would notify the Council of appointments, including mailing addresses and telephone numbers, by November 20, 2012, so that the agenda packet for the **December 14, 2012** meeting can be provided in a timely fashion.

Sincerely

Michael J. Busha, AICP Executive Director

MJB:lg

cc: Richard Radcliffe, Palm Beach County League of Cities Verdenia Baker, Palm Beach County Patty Hindle, Palm Beach County

"Regionalism One Neighborhood At A Time"- Est.1976

421 SW Camden Avenue - Stuart, Florida 34994 Phone (772) 221-4060 - Fax (772) 221-4067 - <u>www.tcrpc.org</u>

TREASURE COAST REGIONAL PLANNING COUNCIL CURRENT MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES - 2012

PALM BEACH COUNTY

Teach ar so a diffic statement as a constant of the

MEMBERS

The Honorable Karen T. Marcus Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2201 FAX: (561) 355-6094 <u>kmarcus@pbcgov.org</u>

The Honorable Priscilla Taylor Commissioner, Palm Beach County P. O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2207 FAX: (561) 355-3990 ptaylor@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Paulette Burdick Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2202 FAX: (561) 355-6094 pburdick@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Martha Webster Councilwoman, Village of Royal Palm Beach 1050 Royal Palm Beach Blvd. Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411 (561) 790-5100 FAX: (561) 790-5174 <u>mwebster@royalpalmbeach.com</u>

The Honorable Samuel J. Ferreri Mayor, City of Greenacres 5800 Melaleuca Lane Greenacres, FL 33463-2399 (561) 642-2017 FAX: (561) 642-2004 <u>sferreri@ci.greenacres.fl.us</u>

ALTERNATES

The Honorable Jess R. Santamaria Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-6300 FAX: (561) 355-3990 jsantamaria@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Shelley Vana Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2203 FAX: (561) 355-3990 <u>svana@pbcgov.org</u>

The Honorable Steven L. Abrams Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2204 FAX: (561) 355-4422 sabrams@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Anne Gerwig Councilwoman, Wellington 12300 W. Forest Hill Blvd. Wellington, FL 33414 (561) 791-4000 (561) 791-4045 agerwig@wellingtonfl.gov

The Honorable David Norris Mayor, Village of North Palm Beach 501 U.S. Highway 1 North Palm Beach, FL 33408 (561) 841-3355 FAX: (561) 881-7469 npbclerk@village-npb.org

PALM BEACH COUNTY CONT'D

MEMBERS

The Honorable Karen Golonka Mayor, Town of Jupiter 8 West Windsor Road Jupiter, FL 33469 (561) 746-5134 FAX: (561) 575-9730 robertb@jupiter.fl.us

The Honorable Joni Brinkman Vice Mayor, Village of Palm Springs 226 Cypress Lane Palm Springs, FL 33461 (561) 965-4010 FAX: (561) 965-0899 jbrinkman@udkstudios.com

The Honorable Shelby Lowe Councilman, City of Riviera Beach 600 West Blue Heron Boulevard Riviera Beach, FL 33404 (561) 845-4095 FAX: (561) 863-3236 <u>slowe@rivierabch.com</u>

ALTERNATES

The Honorable James DuBois Mayor, Town of Lake Park 535 Park Avenue Lake Park, FL 33403 (561) 881-3300 FAX: (561) 881-3314 jdubois@lakeparkflorida.gov

The Honorable Kimberly Mitchell Commissioner, West Palm Beach P.O. Box 3366 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 822-1390 FAX: (561) 822-1399 kmitchell@wpb.org

The Honorable Ellen Andel Vice Mayor Pro Tem, Town of Juno Beach 340 Ocean Drive Juno Beach, FL 33408 (561) 627-4549 FAX: (561) 775-0812 eandel@anjussen.com