

PALM BEACH COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

BOARD APPOINTMENT SUMMARY

Meeting Date:

December 2, 2014

Submitted By:

County Administration

Advisory Board Name: Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council

I. EXECUTIVE BRIEF

Motion and Title: Staff requests Board direction: as it relates to the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) appointments to the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council for a one year term beginning December 2, 2014, to November 30, 2015. Current representatives are shown below:

	Seat No.	Requirement
Regular Seats: Commissioner Hal R. Valeche Commissioner Paulette Burdick Commissioner Priscilla A. Taylor	1 2 3	Palm Beach County Official Palm Beach County Official Palm Beach County Official
Alternate Seats: Vacant Commissioner Steven L. Abrams Commissioner Shelley Vana	1 2 3	Palm Beach County Official Palm Beach County Official Palm Beach County Official

Summary: In accordance with the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council (TCRPC) Rules of Order, the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) is requested to appoint their members and alternates for the coming year before the Council's Annual meeting on December 12, 2014. The BCC will also need to ratify the Palm Beach County League of Cities (League) members under a separate board appointment item. The League is scheduled to make their selections at their November 26, 2014 Meeting. Countywide (RPB)

Background and Justification: The TCRPC Organizational Rules provide that the BCC appoint three members and three alternates to the Council each year. The only restriction on both the members and alternates is that they are elected officials. The TCRPC is charged with discussion of local government comprehensive plans, development of regional impact, and other regional planning activities, and has requested the BCC appoint their members and alternates before the Council's annual meeting on December 12, 2014.

Attachment:

1. Letter from M	ichael J. Busha, Treasure Coast Regional Plan	ning Council
Recommended by:	Market Deputy County Administrator	//////////////////////////////////////
Approved By:	Assistant County Attorney	///19//y

II. REVIEW COMMENTS

A.	Other Department Review:		
	Department Director		

October 17, 2014

The Honorable Priscilla Taylor, Mayor Palm Beach County Board of County Commissioners P. O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402-1989

Subject: Annual Appointment of Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council Members

Dear Mayor Taylor:

In accordance with Council's Rules of Organization, the December meeting is designated as the Annual Meeting, at which time the appointment of all members and alternates is to occur. It is therefore requested that the Board of County Commissioners take the necessary action to appoint members and alternates for the upcoming year. In the case of Palm Beach County, eight members and eight alternates need to be appointed (three county, five municipal). It should be noted that all alternates must be elected officials.

Additionally, the bylaws specifically indicate that municipal appointments must be either appointed or approved by the County. Each County is assigned the number of appointments and the method for making the appointments is left to the discretion and cooperation of the local governments in the area.

It would be appreciated if the County would notify the Council of appointments, including mailing addresses and telephone numbers, by December 2, 2014, so that the agenda packet for the **December 12, 2014** meeting can be provided in a timely fashion.

Sincerely,

Michael J. Busha, AICP Executive Director

MJB:lg

cc: Richard Radcliffe, Palm Beach County League of Cities Je'Riise Hansen, Palm Beach County League of Cities Verdenia Baker, Palm Beach County Patty Hindle, Palm Beach County

"Bringing Communities Together" • Est. 1976
421 SW Camden Avenue - Stuart, Florida 34994
Phone (772) 221-4060 - Fax (772) 221-4067 - www.tcrpc.org

TREASURE COAST REGIONAL PLANNING COUNCIL CURRENT MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES - 2014

PALM BEACH COUNTY

MEMBERS

The Honorable Hal Valeche Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2201 FAX: (561) 355-6094 hvaleche@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Priscilla Taylor Mayor, Palm Beach County P. O. Box 1989
West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2207
FAX: (561) 355-3990
ptaylor@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Paulette Burdick Vice Mayor, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2202 FAX: (561) 355-6094 pburdick@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Anne Gerwig Councilwoman, Wellington 12300 W. Forest Hill Blvd. Wellington, FL 33414 (561) 791-4000 FAX: (561) 791-4045 agerwig@wellingtonfl.gov

The Honorable Samuel J. Ferreri Mayor, City of Greenacres 5800 Melaleuca Lane Greenacres, FL 33463-2399 (561) 642-2017 FAX: (561) 642-2004 sferreri@ci.greenacres.fl.us

ALTERNATES

The Honorable Jess R. Santamaria Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-6300 FAX: (561) 355-3990 isantamaria@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Shelley Vana Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2203 FAX: (561) 355-3990 svana@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Steven L. Abrams Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2204 FAX: (561) 355-4422 sabrams@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Jeff Hmara
Councilman, Village of Royal Palm Beach
1050 Royal Palm Beach Boulevard
Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411
(561) 790-5103
FAX: (561) 790-5174
jhmara@royalpalmbeach.com

The Honorable John Szerdi Commissioner, City of Lake Worth 7 N. Dixie Highway Lake Worth, FL 33460 (561) 586-1734 jszerdi@lakeworth.org

PALM BEACH COUNTY CONT'D

MEMBERS

The Honorable Karen Golonka Mayor, Town of Jupiter 8 West Windsor Road Jupiter, FL 33469 (561) 746-5134 FAX: (561) 575-9730 kareng@jupiter.fl.us

The Honorable Joni Brinkman Council Member, Village of Palm Springs 226 Cypress Lane Palm Springs, FL 33461 (561) 965-4010 FAX: (561) 965-0899 jbrinkman@udkstudios.com

The Honorable James DuBois Mayor, Town of Lake Park 535 Park Avenue Lake Park, FL 33403 (561) 881-3300 FAX: (561) 881-3314 jdubois@lakeparkflorida.gov

GUBERNATORIAL APPOINTEES

Mr. Michael Davis
Senior Vice President
Wantman Group (WGI)
2035 Vista Parkway
West Palm Beach, FL 33411
(561) 687-2220
michael.davis@wantmangroup.com

Mr. Peter Sachs
Sachs Sax Caplan, LLC
6111 Broken Sound Parkway, Suite 200
Boca Raton, FL 33487
(561) 994-4499
psachs@ssclawfirm.com

ALTERNATES

The Honorable Bruce A. Guyton Councilman, City of Riviera Beach 600 W. Blue Heron Boulevard Riviera Beach, FL 33410 (561) 844-3686 FAX: (561) 840-0154 Bguyton@rivierabch.com

The Honorable Marcie Tinsley
Council Member, City of Palm Beach Gardens
10500 N. Military Trail
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
(561) 799-4122
FAX: (561) 799-4124
mtinsley@pbgfl.com

The Honorable David Norris Councilman, Village of North Palm Beach 501 U. S. Highway 1 North Palm Beach, FL 33408 (561) 841-3355 FAX: (561) 881-7469 npbclerk@village-npb.org

Kelly Smallridge
President & CEO
Business Development Board of Palm Beach County
310 Evernia Street
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
(561) 835-1008
ksmallridge@bdb.org