Agenda Item No: 5A-1

PALM BEACH COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

BOARD APPOINTMENT SUMMARY

Meeting Date:

December 1, 2015

Submitted By:

County Administration

Advisory Board Name: Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council

I. EXECUTIVE BRIEF

Motion and Title: Staff requests Board direction: as it relates to the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) appointments to the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council for a one year term beginning December 1, 2015 to November 30, 2016. Current representatives are shown below:

	<u>Seat No.</u>	Requirement
Regular Seats: Vice Mayor Hal R. Valeche Commissioner Paulette Burdick Commissioner Priscilla A. Taylor	1 2 3	Palm Beach County Official Palm Beach County Official Palm Beach County Official
Alternate Seats: Commissioner Melissa McKinlay Commissioner Steven L. Abrams Commissioner Shelley Vana	1A 2A 3A	Palm Beach County Official Palm Beach County Official Palm Beach County Official

Summary: In accordance with the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council (TCRPC) Rules of Order, the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) is requested to appoint their members and alternates for the coming year before the Council's Annual meeting on December 11, 2015. The BCC will also need to ratify the Palm Beach County League of Cities (League) members under a separate board appointment item. The League is scheduled to make their selections at their November 25, 2015 Meeting. Countywide (RPB)

Background and Justification: The TCRPC Organizational Rules provide that the BCC appoint three members and three alternates to the Council each year. The only restriction on both the members and alternates is that they are elected officials. The TCRPC is charged with discussion of local government comprehensive plans, development of regional impact, and other regional planning activities, and has requested the BCC appoint their members and alternates before the Council's annual meeting on December 11, 2015.

Attachment:

1.	Letter from Michael J. Busha,	Treasure Coast Regional Planning	Council

Approved By:

Assistant County Attorney

II. REVIEW COMMENTS

D ((D)		
Department Di	rector	

Other Department Review:

A.

TREASURE COAST REGIONAL PLANNING COUNCIL-INDIAN RIVER - ST. LUCIE - MARTIN - PALM BEACH

October 15, 2015

The Honorable Shelley Vana, Mayor Palm Beach County Board of County Commissioners P. O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402-1989

Subject: Annual Appointment of Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council Members

Dear Mayor Vana:

In accordance with Council's Rules of Organization, the December meeting is designated as the Annual Meeting, at which time the appointment of all members and alternates is to occur. It is therefore requested that the Board of County Commissioners take the necessary action to appoint members and alternates for the upcoming year. In the case of Palm Beach County, eight members and eight alternates need to be appointed (three county, five municipal). It should be noted that all alternates must be elected officials.

Additionally, the bylaws specifically indicate that municipal appointments must be either appointed or approved by the County. Each County is assigned the number of appointments and the method for making the appointments is left to the discretion and cooperation of the local governments in the area.

It would be appreciated if the County would notify the Council of appointments, including mailing addresses and telephone numbers, by **December 2, 2015**, so that the agenda packet for the December 11, 2015 meeting can be provided in a timely fashion.

Sincerely

Michael J. Busha, AICP Executive Director

MJB:lg

Attachment

cc: Richard Radcliffe, Palm Beach County League of Cities Je'Riise Hansen, Palm Beach County League of Cities Verdenia Baker, Palm Beach County Patty Hindle, Palm Beach County

TREASURE COAST REGIONAL PLANNING COUNCIL CURRENT MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES - 2015

PALM BEACH COUNTY

MEMBERS

The Honorable Hal Valeche Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2201 FAX: (561) 355-6094 hyaleche@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Priscilla Taylor Commissioner, Palm Beach County P. O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2207 FAX: (561) 355-3990 ptaylor@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Paulette Burdick Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2202 FAX: (561) 355-6094 pburdick@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Anne Gerwig Councilwoman, Wellington 12300 W. Forest Hill Blvd. Wellington, FL 33414 (561) 791-4000 FAX: (561) 791-4045 agerwig@wellingtonfl.gov

The Honorable Jeff Hmara Councilman, Village of Royal Palm Beach 1050 Royal Palm Beach Boulevard Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411 (561) 790-5103 FAX: (561) 790-5174 jhmara@royalpalmbeach.com

ALTERNATES

The Honorable Melissa McKinlay Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2206 FAX: (877) 930-2206 MMcKinlay@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Shelley Vana Mayor, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2203 FAX: (561) 355-3990 svana@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Steven L. Abrams Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2204 FAX: (561) 355-4422 sabrams@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Paula Ryan Commissioner, City of West Palm Beach P.O. Box 3366 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 822-1390 FAX: (561) 822-1424 pryan@wpb.org

The Honorable Allie Biggs Commissioner, City of Pahokee 207 Bacom Point Road Pahokee, FL 33476 (561) 924-5534 abiggs@cityofpahokee.com

PALM BEACH COUNTY CONT'D

MEMBERS

The Honorable Karen Golonka

Mayor, Town of Jupiter 210 Military Trail Jupiter, FL 3358 (561) 746-5134 FAX: (561) 575-9730

FAX: (561) 575-9730 kareng@jupiter.fl.us

The Honorable Marcie Tinsley

Council Member, City of Palm Beach Gardens

10500 N. Military Trail

Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410

(561) 799-4122

FAX: (561) 799-4124 mtinsley@pbgfl.com

The Honorable James DuBois

Mayor, Town of Lake Park

535 Park Avenue Lake Park, FL 33403

(561) 881-3300 FAX: (561) 881-3314

jdubois@lakeparkflorida.gov

GUBERNATORIAL APPOINTEES

Mr. Michael Davis Senior Vice President Wantman Group (WGI) 2035 Vista Parkway

West Palm Beach, FL 33411

(561) 687-2220

michael.davis@wantmangroup.com

Mr. Peter Sachs

Sachs Sax Caplan, LLC

6111 Broken Sound Parkway, Suite 200

Boca Raton, FL 33487

(561) 994-4499

psachs@ssclawfirm.com

ALTERNATES

The Honorable Bruce A. Guyton

Councilman, City of Riviera Beach 600 W. Blue Heron Boulevard

Riviera Beach, FL 33410

(561) 844-3686

FAX: (561) 840-0154

Bguyton@rivierabch.com

The Honorable Abby Brennan Mayor, Village of Tequesta

345 Tequesta Drive

Tequesta, FL 33469

(561) 339-0740 abrennan@tequesta.org

The Honorable David Norris

Councilman, Village of North Palm Beach

501 U.S. Highway 1

North Palm Beach, FL 33408

(561) 841-3355

FAX: (561) 881-7469

npbclerk@village-npb.org

Ms. Kelly Smallridge President & CEO

Business Development Board of Palm Beach County

310 Evernia Street

West Palm Beach, FL 33401

(561) 835-1008

ksmallridge@bdb.org

Mr. Mark Llano

Source One Distributors, Inc.

3280 Fairlane Farms Road

Wellington, FL 33414

(561) 296-0520 x 222

mllano@buysourceone.com