DRAFT - SUBJECT TO CHANGE

Agenda Item No: 3A1

PALM BEACH COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

BOARD APPOINTMENT SUMMARY

Meeting Date: December 19, 2023

Submitted By: County Administration

Advisory Board Name: Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council

I. EXECUTIVE BRIEF

Motion and Title: Staff recommends motion to approve: Board of County Commissioners appointments to the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council (TCRPC) for a one year term beginning January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024. Proposed appointments are shown below:

Regular Seats	Seat No.	<u>Requirement</u>
Vice Mayor Maria G. Marino	1	Palm Beach County Official
Commissioner Marci Woodward	2	Palm Beach County Official
Commissioner Sara Baxter	3	Palm Beach County Official
<u>Alternate Seats:</u> Commissioner Michael Barnett Mayor Maria Sachs Commissioner Mack Bernard	1A 2A 3A	Palm Beach County Official Palm Beach County Official Palm Beach County Official

Summary: TCRPC discusses local government comprehensive plans, developments of regional impact and other regional planning activities. In accordance with the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council (TCRPC) Rules of Order, the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) is required to appoint three members and three alternates for the coming year before the TCRPC's next meeting. The BCC will also need to ratify the members appointed by the Palm Beach County League of Cities under a separate board appointment item. <u>Countywide</u> (DL)

Background and Justification: TCRPC discusses local government comprehensive plans, developments of regional impact and other regional planning activities. The TCRPC Organizational Rules provide that the BCC appoint three BCC members and three BCC alternates to the Council each year.

Attachment:

1. Letter from Thomas J. Lanahan, Executive Director, Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council

Recommended by:___

Assistant County Administrator

Date

Approved by: ____

Assistant County Attorney

Date

A. Other Department Review:

Department Director



October 25, 2023

The Honorable Gregg Weiss, Mayor Palm Beach County Board of County Commissioners P. O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402-1989

Subject: Annual Appointment of Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council Members

Dear Mayor Weiss:

In accordance with Council's Rules of Organization, the December meeting is designated as the Annual Meeting, at which time the appointment of all members and alternates is to occur. It is therefore requested that the Board of County Commissioners take the necessary action to appoint members and alternates for the upcoming year. In the case of Palm Beach County, eight members and eight alternates need to be appointed (three county, five municipal). It should be noted that all alternates must be elected officials.

Additionally, the bylaws specifically indicate that municipal appointments must be either appointed or approved by the County. Each County is assigned the number of appointments and the method for making the appointments is left to the discretion and cooperation of the local governments in the area.

It would be appreciated if the County would notify the Council of appointments; including mailing addresses and telephone numbers, by **December 6, 2023**, so that the agenda packet for the December 15, 2023 meeting can be provided in a timely fashion.

Sincerely,

Thomas J. Lanahan Executive Director

Attachment

cc: Douglas Bournique, TCRPC Chair Richard Radcliffe, Palm Beach County League of Cities Je'Riise Hansen, Palm Beach County League of Cities Verdenia Baker, Palm Beach County Yvonne Wamsley, Palm Beach County

> "Bringing Communities Together" • Est. 1976 421 SW Camden Avenue - Stuart, Florida 34994 Phone (772) 221-4060 - Fax (772) 221-4067 - www.tcrpc.org

TREASURE COAST REGIONAL PLANNING COUNCIL CURRENT MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES - 2023

PALM BEACH COUNTY

Members

The Honorable Maria G. Marino Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2201 mmarino@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Marci Woodward Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2204 <u>mwoodward@pbcgov.org</u>

The Honorable Sara Baxter Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2206 sbaxter@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Anne Gerwig Mayor, Village of Wellington 12300 W. Forest Hill Blvd Wellington, FL 33414 (561) 791-4000 agerwig@wellingtonfl.gov

The Honorable Jeff Hmara Councilman, Village of Royal Palm Beach 1050 Royal Palm Beach Boulevard Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411 (561) 790-5100 jhmara@royalpalmbeach.com

The Honorable Robert Gottlieb Council Member, Town of South Palm Beach 3577 S. Ocean Boulevard South Palm Beach, FL 33480 (561) 588-8889 rgottlieb@southpalmbeach.com

<u>Alternates</u>

The Honorable Michael Barnett Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2203 mbarnett@pbcgov.rorg

The Honorable Maria Sachs Vice Mayor, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (772) 355-2205 <u>msachs@pbcgov.org</u>

The Honorable Mack Bernard Commissioner, Palm Beach County P.O. Box 1989 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 (561) 355-2207 mbernard@pbcgov.org

The Honorable Joseph Peduzzi Commissioner, City of West Palm Beach 401 Clematis Street West Palm Beach, FL 33401 (561) 882-1390 jpeduzzi@wpb.org

The Honorable Yvette Drucker Council Member, City of Boca Raton 201 W. Palmetto Park Road Boca Raton, FL 33432 (561) 213-9025 ydrucker@ci.boca-raton.fl.us

PALM BEACH COUNTY (continued)

Members

The Honorable John Linden Commissioner, Town of Lake Park 535 Park Avenue Lake Park, FL 33403 (561) 881-3304 jlinden@lakeparkflorida.gov

The Honorable Chelsea Reed Mayor, City of Palm Beach Gardens 10500 N. Military Trail Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410 (561) 799-4102 <u>creed@pbgfl.com</u>

Gubernatorial Appointees

Michael Davis Wantman Group (WGI) 2035 Vista Parkway West Palm Beach, FL 33411 (561) 687-2220 Michael.davis@wginc.com

<u>Alternates</u>

The Honorable Christopher McVoy Vice Mayor, City of Lake Worth Beach 7 North Dixie Highway Lake Worth Beach, FL 33460 (561) 586-1732 cmcvoy@lakeworthbeachfl.gov

The Honorable Deborah Searcy Mayor, Village of North Palm Beach 501 U.S. Highway 1 North Palm Beach, FL 33408-4906 (561) 841-3355 <u>dsearcy@village-npb.org</u>