Palm Beach County Logo, link to home page
 
Consumer Affairs  Divisions  FAQs  Hot Tips
 

Towing Directory

 
 

Consumer Affairs Directory

 
 

Payment Methods

 
Towtruck companies who perform non-consent tows must accept any and all of the following forms of payment:
  • Cash, money order or valid traveler's check
  • Valid bank debit/credit card that is in the name of the vehicle/vessel owner or authorized driver/agent. (VISA and MasterCard must be accepted)
  • Valid personal check showing on its face the name and Florida address of the vehicle/vessel owner or authorized driver/agent.
 

Non-Consent Maximum Towing Rates

 

These maximum non-consent towing rates are applicable only in Palm Beach County, Florida. Cities in Palm Beach County may establish different rates. Maximum rates only apply to situations when a vehicle is towed without the owner's permission or consent. Rates for "consent" tows are not regulated. Review the Palm Beach County Towtruck Ordinance for more details and specifics.

Palm Beach County does not mandate that these maximum rates be charged, but towing companies cannot exceed them.

Private Property Tow

If your car or small truck is towed from a private parking lot or while parked for a special public event, the maximum fees that can be levied by the towing company are:

If vehicle is claimed within 24 hours of tow:

Tow Rate $123
Outdoor Storage (if vehicle is claimed 6 or more hours after tow) $25
*Late hour gate fee $35

If vehicle is claimed more than 24 hours after tow:

Tow Rate $123
Daily Outdoor Storage (Fee accumulates each day the vehicle is not claimed) $25
After Hour Gate Fee - may not be applied between the hours of 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. Monday through Friday (excluding federal holidays) and not for 6 hours after a vehicle has been impounded all other times when:
  1. Impounded vehicles/vessel are recovered by the owner or authorized driver/agent; or
  2. The owner or authorized driver/agent wishes to recover property from an impounded vehicle/vessel.
$35

**Administrative/Lien Fee (Maximun flat fee) $50

The above listed fees are only a summary of the maximum fees that can be charged for completing a "Private Property Impound." All of the permitted maximum fees are included at the end of this section.

Print Maximum RatesAdobe PDF Document

Helpful Information for Private Property Tows:

(The following information includes summaries of county and state towing laws and is not meant to be exhaustive of every situation and detail. For more information, review the entire county towing ordinance.)

  • If your car is missing, look for posted signs in the parking area with the name of the towing company. The name and phone number of the towing company must be on the signs. Signs are required at the entrances and exits of parking lots. Call the towing company to determine if they have your car.

  • If there are no towing signs in the parking area or you are unable to reach the towing company, immediately call the local police department if in a city area or contact the Palm Beach County Sheriff's Office (688-3000). Towing companies are required to contact the local police agency any time they remove a vehicle from a parking area (within 30 minutes of the tow).

  • If you come to the parking area and the towing company has any type of physical connection to your vehicle and has not departed from the property, the towing company is required to disconnect your vehicle when you pay a fee of not more than one-half of the posted rate. The towtruck driver is required to provide an invoice to you prior to demanding payment. The towing company is required to accept cash, credit/debit card (MasterCard/VISA) or a check (if it is from a Florida bank and has your name and address imprinted on it). For more information, review the forms of payment required to be accepted.

  • Note to condominium/home owner's association and business owner/ managers: You are legally liable for vehicles towed improperly from your property (and not the towing company or authorized agent). The liability includes but is not limited to damages, transportation, storage and attorney fees. Read Florida State Statute 715.07.

Police Directed (Accident) Tow

If your car or small truck is involved in an accident or crime and the investigating police agency contacts a towing company to remove your vehicle, the maximum fees that can be levied by the towing company are:

Police Directed Tow Rate $167
Per mile fee $7.50
Daily Outdoor Storage (if vehicle is claimed 6 hours or more after tow) $25
Daily Indoor Storage (if vehicle is claimed 6 hours or more after tow) $35
Extra Time at Scene (25% of applicable towing fee in 15 minute intervals) first 1/2 hour is included in cost of call 25% of towing fee
*Late hour gate fee $35

(*Applicable between the hours of 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday (excluding federal holidays) for vehicles claimed or when property is recovered from the vehicle)

**Administrative/Lien Fee $50

The above listed fees are only a summary of the maximum fees that can be charged for completing a "Police Directed Tow." All of the permitted maximum fees are included at the end of this section.

Print Maximum Rates Adobe PDF Document

Helpful information for Police Directed Tow:

(The following information includes summaries of county and state towing laws and is not meant to be exhaustive of every situation and detail. For more information, review the entire county towing ordinance.)

  • If you are involved in an accident, you have the right to contact any towing company of your choosing to remove your vehicle from the accident scene (in a timely manner). You are free to negotiate the towing fees with that company. An option is to contact your roadside assistance auto club, but often these organizations cannot provide service within police time limitations. If you can't or don't choose a towing company, the police agency will call a towing company from their approved list. Often police directed non-consent tows are more expensive than when you use your own towing company. Most people don't use a towing company routinely and usually are in no frame-of-mind to quickly negotiate a rush tow after an accident. Our suggestion is to follow the advice/suggestions from the police officer and NOT to accept advice from strangers on the scene.

  • In many situations, your insurance company will pay for the cost of having an accident vehicle towed from the scene. For a "Police Directed Tow" your car must be taken to the storage yard of the towing company or to an alternate location authorized by a law enforcement officer. If you elect to use and contact your own towing company, you can request that the accident vehicle be towed to the destination of your choice.

  • Extra time at scene fees may be required if the removal of the vehicle requires extra effort by the tow truck driver. The tow rate includes the first 30 minutes; however, any extra time (in fifteen minute intervals) must be fully documented and justified by the towing company.

*Late Hour Gate Fee - applies when your impounded vehicle/vessel and you or your representative wish to claim the vehicle/vessel between the hours of 8 p.m. and 8 a.m. or when you wish to recover personal property (i.e., tools, computer, unattached radio, etc.) from an impounded vehicle/vessel during these same hours.

**Administrative/Lien Fee - By law, towing companies are required to follow specific owner notification procedures after impounding a vehicle. In Palm Beach County the maximum fee for completing the notification procedures is $50. The Administrative/Lien Fee cannot be charged by the towing company until the vehicle has been in the company's possession longer than 24 hours from time of police report. The towing company must have initiated the notification requirements before charging these fees to a vehicle owner. If you are assessed these fees, ask the towing company to show proof the correspondence has been prepared or mailed and request an itemization of the fees charged. Without proof of action, the fee cannot be charged.

Other Helpful information for "Non-consent" tows:

  • Before claiming your car, it will be necessary to show written proof that you are the lawful owner. The towing company is required to tell you what identifying documents you must produce before the car is released.

  • Before removing your vehicle from the towing company storage facility, do a "walk-around" and carefully inspect to assure it has not been damaged during the towing process.

  • When claiming your vehicle be sure to obtain an invoice detailing all charges. The towing company is required to disclose on the invoice that you have a right to contact the Palm Beach County Consumer Affairs Division if you believe you were overcharged. Call 712-6600.

  • If you have a dispute about the legality of a towing company removing your vehicle from a parking lot - you should contact the appropriate police agency or the owner/manager of the parking lot/property. Parking lot/property owners are required to maintain a contract with the towing company.

  • If you believe you have been overcharged for a non-consent tow, you have the right to post a bond for the disputed amount with the circuit court. The towing company is obligated to release the vehicle when you show proof of the bond. For more details see Section 6.F. of the Palm Beach County Towtruck Ordinance.

  • The Consumer Affairs Division investigates alleged violations of the towtruck ordinance through complaints by the public. Civil fines for violating the ordinance vary up to $500 for each incident

Larger Vehicles

The preceding maximum rate information has only dealt with standard size cars and small trucks weighing less than 10,000 pounds. Such vehicles are for "Class A" towtrucks. Larger/ heavier vehicles are rated as follows:

  • Class B - gross vehicle weight from 15,001 to 22,500 pounds
  • Class C - gross vehicle weight from 22,501 to 58,000 pounds
  • Class D - gross vehicle weight from 58,000 and higher

Normally commercially operating semitrailers, truck tractors, semitrailer combinations and other heavy equipment are NOT included in the regulation of maximum rates a towing company can charge.

Palm Beach County
Maximum Non-Consent Tow Rates
Effective March 1, 2014

Rate Type Rate
Private Property Impound Tow  
Class A Flat Rate $123
Class B Flat Rate $217
Class C Flat Rate $308
Class D Flat Rate $308

No other fees may be imposed for the first 24 hours the vehicle is in the care, custody and control of the towing operator, except: a) applicable storage fees may be charged after the proper police authority has been notified and the vehicle has been in the possession of the towing operator for at least 6 hours and b) "extra time at scene" when a law enforcement agency is called/involved and when the officer's name and badge number and detailed explanation is provided.

 
Police Directed Tow

 

Class A $167
Class B $248
Class C - applies to non-commercial vehicles only $370
Class D - applies to non-commercial vehicles only $530
Per mile fee for Police Directed Tow
Class A $7.50
Class B $8.50
Class C $10.00
Class D $12.50
Daily outdoor storage - vehicles 25' or less after first 6 hours $25
Daily outdoor storage - vehicles longer than 25' after first 6 hours $35
Daily outdoor storage - motorcycles, ATV's, scooters, other small personal vehicles after first 6 hours. $15
*Daily indoor storage - vehicles 25' or less after first 6 hours. $35
*Daily indoor storage vehicles longer than 25' after first 6 hours. Applies to non-commercial vehicles only. $50
*Daily indoor storage motorcycles, ATV's, scooters, other small personal vehicles after first 6 hours. $20
Drop Charge - When the vehicle/vessel owner or authorized driver/agent arrives at the scene prior to the vehicle/vessel being removed or towed from the property, the vehicle/vessel shall be disconnected from the towtruck and the vehicle/vessel owner or authorized driver/agent shall be allowed to remove the vehicle/vessel without interference upon payment of a reasonable service fee of not more than one half of the posted rate for such towing service. One-half of the posted rate for such towing service
Administrative/Lien Fee - after 24-hours, from time of police report. Must show proof that lien letter(s) have been prepared with appropriate names/addresses included and that fees have been expended. $50 Maximum flat fee
After Hour Gate Fee -may not be applied between the hours of 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. Monday through Friday (excluding federal holidays) and not for 6 hours after a vehicle has been impounded all other times when:
  1. Impounded vehicles/vessel are recovered by the owner or authorized driver/agent; or
  2. The owner or authorized driver/agent wishes to recover property from an impounded vehicle/vessel.
$35
Extra Time at Scene - First one-half hour to be included in the initial cost per call. Charges are 15 minute intervals. All extra time/labor shall be documented by the towtruck operator and shall include the name of the law enforcement agency and the law enforcement agency case number or the officer's name and badge number. The documentation shall also include a detailed explanation of the services rendered which necessitated the charges and if possible photographs of the scene. 25% of applicable towing fee in 15 minute intervals.
Underwater Recovery - Performed by a certified/ professional diver with the written documentation and approval by the investigating law enforcement agency/ officer. $100 plus cost per hour (port-to-port)
Hazardous material clean-up and disposal as required, mandated and/or licensed through state or local laws and approved by the investigating law enforcement agency/officer. Towing Company prevailing rates
Consumer Price Index Automatic Increase in Fees: The Maximum Private Property Impound Fees for Class A, B, C & D and Maximum Police Directed Fees for Class A, B, C & D shall be adjusted up or down to the nearest dollar each year beginning March 1, 2007 and each March 1 thereafter. The increases/decreases shall be based on the seasonally adjusted "Consumer Price Index - Urban" (South Region or Miami-Ft. Lauderdale Reports) released by the Federal Bureau of Labor Statistics for the previous calendar year ending December 31. Similarly, mileage fees shall be adjusted up/down to the nearest twenty-five cent level based on the announced Consumer Price Index. The Consumer Affairs Division shall be responsible for compiling and releasing the new maximum rates to all licensed nonconsent towing companies in Palm Beach County by February 1, 2007 and each February 1 thereafter.
 

Services

 

File an E-Dispute
Look up a Business
Look up Licensed Moving Companies
Look up a Licensed Towing Companies
Look up a Licensed VFH Companies

 

Contact Us

 
50 South Military Trail
Suite 201
West Palm Beach, FL 33415
West Palm Beach Area:
(561) 712-6600
Boca/ Delray/ Glades:
Toll Free 1-888-852-7362
FAX:
(561)712-6610

Contact Us